The Origin Of Love by Mika: The Definition of Pop Perfection

21 Oct

Where to even begin on this review…well, first I’ll just say that it’s been a long time coming. When I heard Mika had a new album coming out I knew I was going to have something to say about it. I absolutely love writing about music, especially music I have a lot of respect and adoration for, and Mika’s music definitely falls into that category. Unfortunately, I’ve had to wait for what seemed like forever to receive the album as it only just came out this month. Not so unfortunate was my decision to pre-order it from the official website so I actually ended up getting my copy ahead of the U.S release. I cannot thoroughly or accurately express in words the amount of excitement I felt when I went to get the mail a couple of weeks ago, not expecting to find anything of interest, and instead there was my copy of The Origin Of Love. I then ran back home with a smile on my face, repeatedly thanking some unidentified higher power entity for sending the album to me. This impassioned burst of elation was quite appropriate seeing as I had chosen to make things even harder on myself by not allowing any of the new songs being leaked and performed to reach my ears. For months I was avoiding all exposure to the new material like the plague. Not as easy a task as it sounds, and I’ll be perfectly honest and say I came close to cracking a few times under the pressure of reading all of the ecstatic fan reactions to the new songs. I did give in and listen to the single “Celebrate” (which I’ve heard about a thousand times at this point as it was the only new song I allowed myself to indulge my curiosity in) but that was my only moment of weakness. This aversion may sound crazy to some people, but with some musicians I find it’s better to wait, sit down, and listen to the finished product as a completed work of art. When the time finally arrived to listen to the complete Origin Of Love album, it was like a release – like letting out a breath I had been holding in for 3 months…

The first song I listened to was the title track “Origin Of Love” and after the song ended, the first thing I thought was “wow this is an amazing song” (and it truly is amazing, but I’ll go more into that later). After that I knew I was in for a thrilling experience with the rest of the album and that’s exactly what I got – it starts off strong and never falters from that strength. To me it has a sort of mix-tape quality to it because, as I came to find with subsequent listens through, every song is unique; each track has a different sound, an individual feel to it, and yet they all fit together in a way that makes sense. Mika has frequently stated that one of the major inspirations for the album is Fleetwood Mac and after listening to The Origin Of Love, I now see why. It has the same sort of fluidity of sound from one song to the next as the Rumours album, which happens to be one of my personal favorites. Like Rumours, every song is done in a way that’s not over-thought or trying too hard; they’re just good. The album is however, as the critics, fans, and Mika himself have stated, undeniably different from the pop singer’s previous two albums Life In Cartoon Motion and The Boy Who Knew Too Much, but as Mika has also stated, it still sounds like him. It is definitely more “commercial”  and “mainstream” sounding for lack of better terms. I personally don’t care for those terms because of the associations that always seem to surround them, but it’s the best and the most easily understood way to describe the difference between Origin and its predecessors. Thankfully and not surprisingly, the “more commercial” aspect of the album does not detract at all from the artistic and creative talent Mika once again displays; his penchant for melodically driven pop songs and ability to pen equally catchy, emotive, and dark lyrics remains prevalent on this third album, perhaps more than ever before.

The sound of the album is what gives The Origin Of Love its more “commercial” feel as it’s a total departure from what we’ve become accustomed to hearing from Mika. I would describe the sound of the first two albums as more theatrical, cartoon-inspired, and having a more youthful almost rebellious attitude. The sound on Origin is a mixture of what I’d call “the best of what pop music has to offer” as it features alluring melodies, honest and playful lyrics, and beats that make you want to move. I hear not only the departure from the typical Mika sound, but also a progression; a progression of Mika as an artist and as a person. There is indeed a sense of him “wearing his heart on his sleeve” on this album and as you listen to it, you take a sort of journey through his life, at the end feeling as though you’ve gotten to know him a little better.

I find the songs themselves to be light and accessible yet complex, and each one is a great example of the potential of modern pop music. I’ve always thought that Mika understands the nature of pop music better than most artists putting out records today and that is once again apparent on this album. One of the great things about The Origin Of Love to me is that because every song is just so damn good you’re able to listen to it over and over without getting tired or bored. The experience with this album has been one of the best I’ve had as far as being able to rapidly memorize lyrics and recognize melodies. When I have an experience like that with an album it quickly becomes one of my favorites, and that has most definitely happened with this album. I can honestly say I love every single song which is something that rarely happens to me. Most of the time I’ll like certain songs a lot better than others on records but every now and again a record like this one comes along and I end up loving all of it and can’t get enough. If asked, I would say this is my favorite Mika album out of the three he has put out. Don’t get me wrong, the first two are still albums that I adore and view as extremely innovative pop albums, but there’s something about The Origin Of Love that’s magical. It’s just that good.

So now that I’ve effectively rambled on for several paragraphs, I think it’s time to dive into the finer details and go over the songs individually. I always find it helpful and interesting when I read music reviews when the person goes into why they like, dislike, or love each song on the album so that’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to cover everything except the two bonus remixes, and some acoustic tracks on the second disc of the U.S deluxe edition. I wanted to focus on the tracks I had the most to say about. And away we go…

DISC ONE:

1) Origin Of Love – The title track on the album and what gave me the heads up that the rest was going to be nothing short of magnificent. It features a sort of spacey, other-worldly choir sound, akin to something that would be seen on Doctor Who. To me it sounds like an outer space church choir made up of aliens and humans. It’s a very interesting sound and when I first heard it I was blown away by how unique it was. It’s extremely joyful and leaves you with a smile on your face after every listen. I have to also mention the short bit of monk-style Latin chanting in the middle which I think is fantastic and definitely not something found on your every day pop song (but Mika is not your every day pop artist). The song is beautifully and powerfully written and arranged. It is a true stand-out on the album.

2) Lola – I can’t express how much I love this song! You how there are some songs that you play over and over just to sing along? Well, Lola is one of those for me. It’s probably one of the ones I’ve played the most since getting the album. It’s one of the songs that sounds a bit more like the previous records to me with the bouncy piano and beat. I love the whole idea of it being a conversation, and all in all, it’s just a great, catchy pop song that’s fun to sing. Lola, I’ve made up my mind, and this is one of my favorite Mika songs ever.

3) Stardust – This was one of the most talked about songs I’d read about online as the album started getting released. After listening to it I do see why because it’s a pretty perfect electro-pop love song. It has a great build from the verse to the chorus and in my opinion, the chorus features some of the best higher octave singing Mika has ever done. Again, it’s a fun one to sing along to, especially for me since my range is that of a 1st soprano. If you’re into more electronic pop and want to listen to a song that exudes joyfulness, then this is a great one.

4) Make You Happy – I actually did hear this one when the music video was released months ago, but since then I had completely forgotten it (which is why I didn’t count it along with Celebrate as cheating). I did remember liking it though and I still do now that I’ve listened to it again. This is the more electronic version (there’s a second version that is less electronic) but it’s still very melodic. I love the rhythm of the singing during the verses as well. One of my favorite lines from all of the songs on the album is in this song: “can’t you see the love around you, you know you’re crazy not to take it”. That one in particular stands out to me for whatever reason and I love the way it’s sung.

5) Underwater – This song has been talked about so much everywhere online and it’s been one of the songs I’d been anticipating the most. In all honesty it sounded different than I thought it would at first listen. Not in a bad way, just not what I was expecting. I’m not even sure what specifically I was expecting to hear, but that aside, I do really love this song as much as everyone else. It opens on a really beautiful piano riff that sets the tone for the rest of the song which I find to be one of floating. Visually, the song evokes images of the ocean; as it rises and falls it creates the feeling of a wave rising and crashing down. I love when songs make you actually experience something. Every time I listen to this song I’m immediately whisked away from where I am. It’s a similar experience to a song like “Rocket Man” for me where I feel like I’m just floating on a cloud.

6) Overrated – For some reason it took a few listens for me to love this song. Maybe because it’s more heavily electronic and I’m not particularly into electronic music, but I do really like it now and think it’s great. It sounds a bit like something you’d hear in a club to me, but at the same time there’s a classical, almost theatrical element to it particularly in the verses which is where the magic is as far as the singing.  There are bits during the verses that really showcase how incredible Mika’s lower range is, which we haven’t been able to truly appreciate. It’s very strong and full of passion and it’s probably my favorite bit of singing out of all the songs on the entire album.

7) Kids – This is another one of my favorites on the album. I’ve read it’s a lot of people’s least favorites for one reason or another and I’m surprised by that. As soon as I listened to it my first thought was “this reminds me of something…” and it really does, it reminds me of older music from the 60’s or 70’s but blended with contemporary pop. It has a very hazy, Californian, almost Simon & Garfunkel type of sound to it. I’m personally not a fan of Simon & Garfunkel, but that’s what it makes me think of automatically, or some other similar artist of the late 60’s/early 70’s.

8) Love You When I’m Drunk – First of all, the lyrics to this song are great. I understand it’s meant to be a sort of break up letter and that definitely comes across. I have to say, I commend Mika for being so open on this song (and I feel for whoever the song was directed towards as well). This is another song that I think is reminiscent of the first two records, musically speaking. The thing I noticed most about it is the variation in the singing. It starts out sounding almost theatrical in a sense, very proper, very poised. An image of him standing on stage holding his hands together in front of his chest as they do in operas comes to mind. Then it starts to build in intensity and when the chorus hits, it’s an explosion. My interpretation of the song is like this: the verse is the story he’s telling, then it starts to build and he’s saying “hey pay attention I have something to tell you…”, and then the chorus is the main message. I’m hoping that makes sense and if not, listen to the song and maybe you’ll be able to hear it like I do.

9) Step With Me – One of my other favorites, and one that’s been played over and over much like Lola. It’s just a perfect pop song to me. Everything about it, from the melody, to the lyrics, to the beat…everything. It reminds me a little of 90’s pop but better; more so in the chorus. To me that’s not a bad thing because I was all over 90’s pop music, I listened to all of it and loved it, unashamedly. It’s the perfect combination of sweet melodies and a breezy beat that makes you want to sway from side to side. This song is delicious like home-cooked dishes I’m listening to mischievously…

10) Popular Song – Well who knew Mika could rap?! Not I! Yes, he sings AND raps on this song (along with Priscilla Renae who sounds great as well), not in a hard-core-gangsta-let-your-chains-hang-low sort of way, but still it’s fun and charming. The first time I heard this song I couldn’t stop smiling and laughing because the lyrics are so great; they’re funny, honest, and convey a message that’s easy to relate to. And yes it’s also true that he samples the song “Popular” from Wicked in the chorus (so for all you musical theatre geeks, this one might be one to check out). If you’ve ever been bullied, misunderstood, or felt like an outsider, sing along to this one – you’ll feel empowered.

11) & 5) (from Disc 2) Emily / Elle Me Dit – They’re pretty much the same song, just different lyrics/languages. “Elle Me Dit” and “Emily” are both extremely catchy (probably the catchiest songs I’ve heard in a while, seriously I dare you to listen to them and then not have one or both stuck in your head). Although “Emily” is just the English equivalent to EMD, to me it manages to stand on its own. “Elle Me Dit”  has also become my go-to song to walk to French class to (quite excessive, I know). Both are fun to sing along with and if you are not fluent in French and appreciate a good challenge, try to sing along with “Elle Me Dit”, it’s a verbal workout.

12) Heroes – The saddest song on the record that talks about soldiers returning from war and the permanent,  life-altering, devastating effects having that experience results in. It makes me want to cry when I hear it because lyrically, it’s very poignant and poetic. Musically, it’s simple and beautiful, and it is beautiful in its simplicity. It’s message is one not heard or expressed often in music these days and I always find it both refreshing and praise-worthy when and artist creates something that speaks to the state of the world; in this case directly to some of its most overlooked and damaged citizens.

13) Celebrate – Ah Celebrate, the one song I’ve had something to say about for months. Admittedly, when I first listened to this song I wasn’t sure if I liked it. It was the first glimpse I had of the “new Mika” and at first I honestly thought it was too different. However, the more I listened the more I liked it. Going back to Fleetwood Mac, there’s something about it that reminds me of “Everywhere”; melodically it sounds very similar to me, which isn’t necessarily bad if you like Fleetwood Mac and “Everywhere” in particular, which I do. The only thing I would say in opposition to it is that I do prefer the “China Boy” verse on the acoustic version (also on the album) and wish it was included, but that’s really the only “bad” thing about it in my opinion. This was also a very important song to me as it came into my life during a time of major transition during which I would always go back to the line “I remember those two letters, it will be OK”. That became my mantra of sorts and helped keep me sane during a rather stressful time in my life. It’s the kind of song that makes you want to dance and sing it at the top of your lungs and that’s exactly the kind of distraction from stress I needed over the past few months. So thank you, Mika.

14) Make You Happy (Miami Edit) – This is the other, less electronic version of the song. It relies more on an orchestral, instrumental sound mixed with electronic touches. I think the blend of the two works wonderfully and the product is almost ethereal. It sounds a bit sadder than the original to me as well, both in sound and lyrically. I think both versions are able to stand on their own and it just depends what type of sound you prefer.

DISC TWO:

1) Origin Of Love (Acoustic Version) – Alright, I’m just going to come out and say it…disagree if you wish, but in my opinion, this version is better than the original. It’s my favorite song out of all the songs on the album, hands down. Do I love the original and think it’s a great song, yes, but this acoustic version kicks its ass. It’s so beautiful, so simple, sung and arranged perfectly (there are too many compliments I could shower down upon it so I’ll cut it off there). I feel that this version gets to the heart of the song more so than the original. You’re able to really hear the lyrics, really hear the message. It’s arranged in a sort of jam session type of way which I really like a lot and I feel like the fact that it’s stripped down gives it an honesty and a purity that I feel like the original lacked in some respects. It still maintains a sort of choir sound, just in a more casual sit-down type of way. It still has that “lift you up and take you away” quality that the original has but it does so with a lighter touch. It’s perfect to me and even my mother (who is also a Mika fan) said she thought this was the single version not having heard the original. Yet another case of two versions of songs successfully standing on their own but in this case, at least to me, one comes out on top.

7) Tah Dah – Love this one. It’s very 80’s synth-pop sounding which I really like; the 80’s are one of my favorite decades of music so any reference to that time period and I’m on board. It’s not so overtly 80’s pop though, it’s more like 80’s pop that’s been updated and mixed with modern electro-pop elements. Just goes to show that music is never truly “out of date”.

So let me just break it down for you: if you’re a fan of Mika, or if you’re simply looking for something new and different to listen to, I’d highly suggest picking up this album. It’s song after song of pure brilliance and effectively demonstrates the magical qualities of pop music. I’ve enjoyed getting to know a new side of Mika through listening to this record. I can tell that with every detail of every song it was a labor of love. It took a while to come to full fruition, but the proof is in the final product. It’s as telling as it is important to also understand what he went through in order to make this album what it is – from writer’s block, to a bad break-up, to a horrific medical ordeal in his family – all the while growing as a person and evolving into who he is today: confident, mature, and most importantly, happy. I think he should congratulate himself for being aware of the changes he needed to make and for taking the time he needed to get to where he wanted to be. Most of all, he should be proud to have made such a fresh and immaculate pop record.

6 Responses to “The Origin Of Love by Mika: The Definition of Pop Perfection”

  1. Mona-Lisa 10/22/2012 at 8:08 PM #

    That was a wonderful review, I felt every word that you wrote. I love this album too and I think that each song is magical. I would add that the acoustic version of LYWID it’s also better than the original, the arrangement and the way it is sung makes you feel that you really “get it”, it’s sang to you, it gets closer.. Although I praise both versions :)

    • maryelizabethhb 10/22/2012 at 8:23 PM #

      Thank you very much! Such a nice comment :) I do like the acoustic version of LYWID, actually I like all the acoustic versions, I just focused mainly on OOL because it spoke to me the most. Thanks for the positive feedback I really appreciate it! I really enjoyed writing this & I’m glad that came across :)

  2. Katia Regina J Santos 10/22/2012 at 11:57 PM #

    Great review, I totally agree with you!
    I loved the acoustic versions, you hear his voice devoid of elements of distraction, that’s great, because it has one of the most beautiful voices I’ve ever heard in my life. But I think was just amazing thought he used a different sound, like a lot of the electronics, so for her new album was refreshing and innovative. Not much more to say, you were full for me. Congratulations to Mika give us this priceless gift.
    Thank you Mary and my pleasure know about you
    Katita (@krjsantos) xx

    • maryelizabethhb 10/23/2012 at 9:48 AM #

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it! I completely agree about his voice, it’s lovely and I think it was really shining on this new record. His best singing ever in my opinion! The album is indeed amazing and I really enjoyed writing this about it. Thank you for your kind comment and it’s my pleasure to know you as well:) x

  3. Kyung Sun Kim 10/25/2012 at 6:00 AM #

    So damn great review!!!! Your review just got me to incredibly concentrate!! I’m so impressed. And I do agree with you. I don’t even know how to describe what I feel haha! Mika’s third album is indeed different but sill Mika: I love that very much. And I’m sure I’m intensely in love with TOOL more than the two . God, it’s a super addictive drug! So I always wonder: what on earth has Mika put in this album seriously? Did he have some private lesson from Harry Potter or something??!! XD

    • maryelizabethhb 10/25/2012 at 11:43 AM #

      haha! Indeed I think he probably did use a little wizard magic to create this masterpiece! That seems to be the only logical explanation! Thank you so much for the comment, it means a lot to me & I’m glad you enjoyed it! :)

Leave a comment